FO Friday: Qiviut Cowl

I finished my qiviut cowl! It was my New Year’s Eve cast on, so only took about a month. Well, the knitting didn’t take that long, but it always takes me a while to get around to blocking things. With my new schedule of mostly doing finishing work on Tuesdays, I just had such a backlog of that sort of thing that I didn’t get around to blocking it until this week. It looked pretty cool blocking too.

It dried really quickly and it drapes beautifully. Also, it’s super warm and soft! Definitely a winter accessory. The pattern is Lotus Ring by Maureen Hefti. I made the small size because I didn’t have much yarn. It used 185 yds, which was just about spot on for the lower end of the yardage estimate! I love when that happens. I was left with only 33 yards. I’m sure it will make a very special edging for some scrappy project. Into the scraps bin it goes.

The fit is great, it slips easily over my head because the ribbing is so stretchy. I do have to take off my glasses before taking it on or off though because I don’t want them to snag anything.

By yarnologist

I'm a former wannabe scientist turned fiber arts fanatic. Follow me as I attempt to turn my amateur hobby into a professional career!

Leave a comment