Awards!

I’ve been nominated for some bloggy awards! The first one happened a couple weeks ago, but I was so stunned by it that I really didn’t know what to do about it. Duh, post about it! I’m really thrilled to be nominated for both awards, it warms this new-ish blogger’s heart to know that people not only read my blathering posts, but enjoy it.

Susan from Down the Mountain Road nominated me for the Reader Appreciation Award! She called me entertaining! I like her.

Reader Appreciation Award

Then, Isobel of Center Pull Photography nominated me for the Liebster Award! She called me smart! I like her.

Liebster Blog Award

“Liebster” is a German word meaning dearestbeloved or favorite.  The Liebster Award is given by bloggers to other bloggers – intended to showcase exceptional blogs.

And the Liebster Award came with instructions! I’m not sure how to do #1 yet, but I will work on figuring that out.

How It Works:

1. Add the award icon to your blog!

2. Link to your nominator to say thank you.

3. Each blogger should post 11 facts about themselves.

4. Answer the questions the tagger has set for you, & create 11 questions for your nominations to answer.

5. Choose 11 up-and-coming bloggers with less than 200 followers, go to their blog, and tell them about the award.

Facts About Me:

  1. I am very introverted. As wordy as I am here on the internet, if you met me in person I would not be talkative At. All.
  2. Despite the above statement, Pinkie Pie is my spirit animal.
  3. In second grade I correctly spelled “dichlorodiphenyltrichloroethane” (AKA DDT) on a spelling test. It is still my proudest academic achievement. (Also, I just looked that up to make sure I spelled it right and I only missed one letter. SCORE!)
  4. This does not make me a spelling genius, it just means when I put my mind to it I can memorize ANYTHING.
  5. I once dented my butt by falling down the stairs. You heard me. Dented it. Bruised it so hard the fat cells died and left a stair-shaped dent behind. It’s filled in some now, but I can still feel it.
  6. I am afraid of lettuce. I can still eat it, but only if I don’t look at it first.
  7. I have very bad luck in Skyrim despite adjusting the difficulty settings. Seriously, it’s never just a dragon, it’s always a dragon AND a giant AND a mammoth AND a sabre cat all trying to kill me at once. WTF?!!
  8. My theme song in college was Schadenfreude from Avenue Q because my bad luck is not restricted to Skyrim. That song always cheered me up whenever something awful happened to me and my friends would start singing it to me.
  9. My favorite activity as a child was alphabetizing my collection of animal cards.
  10. I love cats, yet I’m allergic to them.
  11. I would shank someone for salted caramel flavored popcorn. Or Smitten truffles. I would mow down a room full of babies for those truffles.

My Answers:

1. What are you most passionate about?

Knitting! Really anything related to fiber arts, but knitting is my favorite!

2. Why do you blog?

I got sick of having to explain my passion for knitting to everyone I meet. I intend to make this my career, so by blogging about it I can do several things at once: raise awareness about knitting culture – it’s not just a silly hobby, it’s a lifestyle; detail the process of becoming a professional in the knitting industry – I feel like it’s a bit of mystery how one gets from knitting enthusiast to knitwear designer, or accomplished tech editor, or indie hand-dyer, or editor of an online knitting magazine…whatever path I end up on, I want a record of how I got there so others who want to do something similar can see how it’s done (or not done, depending on how badly I screw up along the way!); by blogging about knitting it sort of legitimizes my passion so I don’t have to explain so much to people about why I knit. I just have to say I blog about the knitting industry and they tend to shut up. I’m still not sure whether they take that as an explanation for my knitting or if it just tells them not to poke the crazy.

3. What is your favorite meal?

Rib-eye steak. I really could care less about the sides, but baked potatoes always go good with steak! And a Coke. I’m a Coke addict.

4. What book or books do you think everyone should read?

World War Z by Max Brooks, and Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. They are both very different books, but both explore how humans behave under extraordinary circumstances through the medium of science fiction. I’m sure there are other must-read books that also do this, but these are the first two that came to mind.

5. If money were no object, how would you occupy the rest of your life?

Learning ALL of the fiber arts! I’d attend as many fiber arts events and classes that I could, I’d get a bigger place so I could have space for more equipment like floor looms and more spinning wheels and dyeing equipment, I’d buy a bale of wool just so I could roll around in it like Scrooge McDuck swimming through his pile of money…

6. If heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the pearly gates?

“Well, this is awkward.”

7. What is one thing you’ve never been able to/had time to/had funds to do that you still want to do?

Learn weaving. I simply can’t afford to get any more equipment, nor do I have any space for it.

8. What is your favorite television show and why?

Doctor Who! It’s sci-fi that doesn’t take itself too seriously, so WHO CARES if there are inconsistencies? It’s timey-wimey.

9. What is your least enjoyable chore?

Laaaaaaauuuundryyyyyy. It never ends!

10. What one thing about you is cool?

One thing? Well I think everything about me is cool, but the most recent independent observation of coolness – I use the term “there’s a yarn for that” the way some people say “there’s an app for that” because there is! In this case we were discussing sciency/spacey things on Facebook and the other person made a joke about “string theory” because I play with string all the time, so I sent him a link to String Theory Colorworks.

11. Do you have pets?

Four cats – though technically only one of them is mine, the others just like to hang out on my lap all the time.

 My Questions:

  1. When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?
  2. NOW what do you want to be when you grow up?
  3. Why do you blog? (I couldn’t help stealing this question, it’s a good one!)
  4. What is your favorite color?
  5. What is the air-speed velocity of an unladen swallow?
  6. Pirates or ninjas?
  7. What is your favorite movie and why?
  8. If money were no object and you could magically skip all immigration proceedings (if applicable) where would you want to live?
  9. What is your guilty pleasure?
  10. What skill do you want to learn, but haven’t been able to/had time to yet?
  11. Who is your favorite artist and why?

My nominees:

Oh man, this is the hard part. There are so many blogs out that deserve this award, but I just don’t follow that many blogs! Many of the blogs I do follow are very popular and have way over 200 followers, and for the others, I’m not sure how I can tell how many followers they have! Many of the blogs on my “following” list are pretty new to me too, so I haven’t really gotten a feel for them yet. I’ll nominate as many as I can, but I might not get to 11…

Jessica’s Yarn Tales A brand new blogger and a good friend of mine. Every post she’s written has been delightful to read! We tend to feed off of each-others yarn lust.

Green Bean’s String Factory More tales of knitting to feed my obsession! She has FANTASTIC FO and in-progress photography!

Jean’s Knitting This is one of the newer additions to my reading list, but already I love it! It’s another knitting project blog, but with lots of wit and hyperbole thrown in. I find myself giggling at something in almost every post!

PottyLips This one isn’t at all knitting related! It’s a truly hilarious blog that aims to expand one’s vocabulary. I bow to the linguist talents of this fabulous blogger.

That’s all I’ve got. The rest are all either huge names who have way more than 200 followers or are too new to me. I really need to read more blogs!

By yarnologist

I'm a former wannabe scientist turned fiber arts fanatic. Follow me as I attempt to turn my amateur hobby into a professional career!

3 comments

  1. Re: your answer about Doctor Who: I love that there really isn’t any canon for Who. Anyway, that’s what the BBC says, and that’s what some of the writers have said.

  2. Congrats on the awardy goodness! And, man, i did not know it until i read this post, but if I get to heaven I., too, want God to say, “Well, this is awkward.” 🙂

    When people think your dreams of knitting industry success are weird, just do what I do. Look ’em right in the eye and say, deadpan, “Dude, there are people who juggle for a living.”

  3. Lol, I remember you denting your butt. Forgive my laughter. And I love that you referenced Scrooge McDuck when you said you wanted to roll around in a big pile of fiber! I do too.

    And thank you for the nomination!

Leave a comment