WIP-Cracking Wednesdays: Black Friday Socks

I’m taking a break from my weekly woecake to show a couple of WIPs that are actually going well. Remember the Black Friday KAL socks I cast on a couple of weeks ago? Well, they’ve grown.

IMG_9553

I made a lot of head-way while watching Game of Thrones (only 2 episodes in and I’m HOOKED) and re-watching Lord of the Rings.

The brown and black one on the right is the boyfriend’s. It’s made from Canon Hand Dyes Charles Self Striping and the colorway is called Aragorn. I knit them toe-up on DPNs and used a k2p2 rib for the cuff. I still need to put in the afterthought heel, but since I’ve never done one before I’m going to set it aside for a few days while I work up the nerve to try it.

The red, pink and black one on the left is mine. It’s made from Canon Hand Dyes Lewis Self Striping MCN and the colorway is called “The course of true love never did run smooth” – A Midsummer Night’s Dream. It’s my very first Magic Loop project!

I have to say, I rather like this Magic Loop method. It seems to go faster than using DPNs, it’s easier to knit without looking, and I never have to worry about the stitches falling off the needles when I set the project down! The only parts that I didn’t really enjoy were casting on, the heel, and the toe – they all seemed a bit fiddly to me, but perhaps that’s just inexperience.

I knit this one top down and started with a k1p1 rib for the cuff. I used a heel-flap style construction with a slightly different slip stitch pattern than I’m used to using. When it came time to start the foot I made sure to decrease it by 2 sts from the cuff because my foot is thinner than my leg. I did run into a slight problem with the toe…

The instructions I was following were written for DPNs and I was having a hard time translating it into Magic Loop. My first attempt had to be ripped out because it puckered so badly and the increases seemed to spiral around the toe. I asked for help from the lovely Raveler who sent me the circular needles and encouraged me to try Magic Loop and my second attempt with her instructions turned out much better. Now I just have to do it all over again for the second sock!

 

One thought on “WIP-Cracking Wednesdays: Black Friday Socks

Leave a Reply

