WIP Wednesday: Qiviut Cowl

My New Year’s Eve cast on this year was the Lotus Ring cowl made from my precious qiviut I got at the Sock Summit.

For those who don’t know, qiviut is the most expensive and softest of fibers. It is the soft underwool of the muskox, and in Alaska is collected by hand from either brushing farmed muskox as they molt or found out in the wild in clumps. In Canada it comes from pelts of hunted muskox. It is stronger and warmer than wool, and softer than cashmere, and does not felt.

I decided it was finally time to stop hoarding it and use it. It’s hard to see here because it’s bunched up on a short needle, but it’s a beautiful leafy lace. At least I think it is. I haven’t really been able to look at it due to the bunched-upness, so it’ll be a surprise! It’s sooo soft though, I wish you could feel it through the screen. It’s a bit too spicy to work on during zoom calls or important shows, so I’ve been working on it while watching the news or low-stakes shows that my sister is into, like Alien Worlds on Netflix. I’m only 7 rows away from being done and the stitch counts are getting smaller. I’m pretty sure at this point I will have enough yarn, possibly even for the picot crocheted edging option. Stay tuned, this’ll be a FO soon!

By yarnologist

I'm a former wannabe scientist turned fiber arts fanatic. Follow me as I attempt to turn my amateur hobby into a professional career!

Leave a comment