Detonating the Yarn Bomb

I know I’m over a month late with this, but better late than never, right? I have a ton of yarnbombing photos to share!

For my contribution I made sure to do much of the work ahead of time so that the actual installation would be as quick and painless as possible. It only took me about 10 minutes to get this up! I just pinned the top middle and bottom together on the light post with safety pins to hold it in place and then I climbed up onto the railing and quickly whip stitched the seam together.

IMG_5455 IMG_5581 IMG_5564 IMG_5559

I was going for a vague Welcome to Night Vale theme, so I included the purple eye logo on the front.

IMG_5472

I made a tentacle too. There aren’t really any tentacles in Welcome to Night Vale that I can recall, but it seems to be the universal symbol for “creepy and/or weird” so it seemed appropriate. I also included a handful of red dots for Dot Day. I thought about including a few blue dots as well, but I don’t really know what the consequences might be for such a subversive action. I figured the yarnbombing organizers might be upset if it resulted in an explosion or a black hole or something, so I decided against it.

IMG_5470

That pale yellowish pink thing is my pathetic attempt at a Glow Cloud. There’s silver thread woven through it and I used lots of bobbles to make it look cloud-like. It didn’t turn out as glowy or cloudy as I had hoped. Oh well. I tried.

IMG_5474

IMG_5476

IMG_5484 IMG_5478

The whole time I was making this and thinking up ways to incorporate the Night Vale fandom I was pretty much resigned to the fact that no one would get it. I mean, I know the fandom seems to have completely taken over the internet and any pictures I might post on the internet would probably get some love (and there was indeed a huge spike in views on my Tumblr page), but I wasn’t making this for the internet I was making it for a bridge. Well, someone DID get it! There was a poster board set up to allow people to leave comments about the project and it appears a city council representative stopped by to inspect the yarn bomb.

IMG_6093

I was able to help put together a second lamp post cover on installation day. There was a really cool looking panel of black knitting with a gold spikey detail, but it was just a small section and needed a lot more added to it to fit around a post. I crocheted enough extra black fabric onto it to wrap around the post and added a small panel of knitted black eyelash yarn and gold-ish stuff at the bottom. Then I sewed on a woven piece that was donated and some black feather boas and tied it all onto a post in the dead of night. The next time I saw it someone had added a spiderweb to it which I think really ties the whole thing together.

IMG_5634

Since mine was so quick to go up I was able to help install some of the other pieces. I helped out a woman named Amber with a few of hers.

IMG_5509 IMG_5503

There was a person stationed at the bridge most of the day to help out and give directions, but most of the time everyone was too busy to sit down.

IMG_5500

Someone from the local TV station came by to check things out.

IMG_5520

It was amazing how quickly we were able to fill the bridge.

IMG_5495

IMG_5590

IMG_5597 IMG_5599

After all was said and done Spectral Spiders managed to cover every single lamp post on the bridge – 30 in all! I’ve already shown you a few, but here are the rest:

IMG_5742 IMG_5732 IMG_5729 IMG_5719 IMG_5717 IMG_5712 IMG_5692 IMG_5697 IMG_5698 IMG_5690 IMG_5685 IMG_5683 IMG_5676 IMG_5670 IMG_5659 IMG_5657 IMG_5646 IMG_5632 IMG_5630 IMG_5624 IMG_5619 IMG_5617 IMG_5613 IMG_5609 IMG_5605 IMG_5603 IMG_5592 IMG_5591 IMG_5551 IMG_5552 IMG_5553 IMG_5519 IMG_5498

Apparently we couldn’t stop at just the lamp posts. A few other yarn bombs were found at the bridge.

IMG_5707 IMG_5747 IMG_5749

It was all up in time for Arts Walk! Unfortunately some of the pieces didn’t last beyond that night. Vandalism is something that happens frequently with yarn bombings, and this time was no exception. By the next day several of the pieces were gone, including Yoda which was a beloved traveling yarn bomb that had graced the streets outside the creator’s house for years.

IMG_6006

The giant octopus was cut down as well, and was doubly painful due the fact that it was made by the same artist who made Yoda.

IMG_6014

It sucks to have art vandalized like that, but that’s a risk one takes when making street art. There was one uninvited guest I found who seemed to really understand what we were trying to do. A tiny spider showed up on one of the spider-themed pieces in honor of the Spectral Spiders.

IMG_6009

All in all it was a great experience! I’m definitely going to participate in more yarn bombings in the future!

3 thoughts on “Detonating the Yarn Bomb

  1. This is such a cool project! And I’m so glad it went well–despite the vandals. I can understand WANTING the giant octopus, I admit, but can’t you just leave a card on it asking to have one made for you pretty pretty please with a cherry on top?

Leave a Reply

