Photocalypse: Too Much Light

Normally when I’m photographing things I want ALL THE LIGHT. When I’m using the light box I have 6 different lamps surrounding the box from all angles. I LOVE light. Until I have to photograph something white. If I have to capture something white then it seems like I have to do it in the dark in order to get any depth in the photo AT ALL. I thought today would be dim enough to do some white photography, but it was still a pain. Today’s prompt was “buttons” so I finally picked out some buttons for my Tilting TARDIS Cowl.

Staging and lighting: I put the cowl and the buttons on a table in my mother’s room in front of a window. It’s a window facing the neighbor’s house, so there isn’t much room for the light to sneak in. It was really cloudy today too. I even turned off the overhead light so there was only light source in this photo.

IMG_5225 IMG_5226

 

Instagram edits: Rise filter and border

Computer edits: cropped, decreased exposure, increased saturation, increased definition a lot, increased highlights to the max

edited with iPhoto

edited with iPhoto

There were only a few filters in Instagram that didn’t completely obscure the contours of the buttons and Rise seemed to be the best option. When I was editing the photo on the computer I concentrated on just the first button and pretty much ignored the rest of the photo. I really wanted to show the angles on that button! This was the best I could do. It doesn’t really show the cool pattern that made me pick these buttons over all the rest. It looks very TARDIS-y, trust me. I’m not sure how much darker it needs to be in order to get a decent photo of white things…

 

 

2 thoughts on “Photocalypse: Too Much Light

  1. You said, “Tilting TARDIS Cowl,” and stole my heart away.

    I instantly added it to my Ravelry favorites, tagged it, downloaded the pattern, and saved to my Ravelry library.

    Of course I don’t have the right stash yarn but I’m thinking a splurge might be a bit fun. I’d like to get some warm wools and soft cashmere-y blends. Knit Picks is calling my name.

    Wish I knew more about photography to help 🙂

Leave a Reply

