Photocalypse: Hall of Mirrors

When I saw a bunch of mirror selfies coming across my Instagram feed I knew today must be “mirror” day for the photo challenge. I’ll be damned if I’m going to shower just for an Instagram pic though, so I had to come up with a way to take a picture of a mirror without my reflection in it.

Staging and lighting: I went back into the bathroom for this one. First I cleaned the mirrors (you’re welcome, mom), then I cleared off the ledge in front of the center mirror. I left the magnifying mirror up though. With both cupboards open as far as they could go I was able to create a sort of “hall of mirrors” effect. I stuck my hand in there and blindly took photos until I found an angle that worked.

IMG_5222

 

Instagram edits: Rise filter and border

Computer edits: cropped, enhanced, returned saturation to normal (“enhance” jacked it up way too much), increased exposure, decreased contrast

edited with iPhoto

edited with iPhoto

Once again, the Instagram filter just makes this photo look more “put together” to me. I’m getting more and more irritated at my inability to recreate some of these effects with iPhoto.

 

2 thoughts on “Photocalypse: Hall of Mirrors

Leave a Reply

