Photocalypse: On the Street

Today’s task was to photograph a street. I could have been super lazy and just photographed the street in front of my house, but as long as I had pants on I decided to escape the impenetrable tree canopy that surrounds my neighborhood.

Staging and lighting: I found a decently lit street and parked. It was very sunny out and the picture was taken at about 1:30 pm. It was so bright out in fact, that I had that unfortunate problem of not really being able to see what was on the screen as I was taking the photos. I took the photos in the shadow of a small line of trees and hedges.

IMG_5150

Instagram edits: cropped, Rise filter with border

Computer edits: cropped and enhanced

edited with iPhoto

edited with iPhoto

Considering I couldn’t see AT ALL when I was taking these, I got some pretty good shots! I think I’ve learned what angles work best by now so I don’t really have to scrutinize the screen in order to be sure to get a good photo. I just had to watch for the yellow square to show up indicating that the camera is in focus. By getting on the ground I was able to imitate my favorite effect (tilt-shift) without any edited required! Blurry foreground, blurry background, middle plane in focus, and ta-da! Tilt-shift! I barely had to touch these photos and they both look great!

 

2 thoughts on “Photocalypse: On the Street

Leave a Reply

