Photocalypse: A Twofer

Yesterday’s photo prompt was “ground” so I had this great idea that I would go out as the sun was setting and take a picture of the ground in some nice soft golden light. Then I fell asleep and didn’t wake up until it was dark out. Oops.

It rained today so I just took a picture of the wet fir-needle covered ground.

Staging and lighting: I walked outside a few paces, and pointed the camera at the ground. It was about 4:30 pm and it was actively raining. The sun was not visible.

Instagram edits: tilt-shift horizontally, lux, X-Pro II with border

Computer edits: cropped, enhanced, increased definition

edited with iPhoto

edited with iPhoto

The Instagram version is way better. The tilt-shift adds so much depth to these kind of photos that the computer version really can’t compare. The more I rag on the lack of tilt-shift in iPhoto, the more I realize I probably should just find another editing program that has that function. Something that does borders too would be awesome.

Today’s prompt was “favorite tool” and there was no question what I would be photographing. I LOVE my Signature needles! They truly are the perfect needles. They are super smooth, but have just the slightest texture to the needle shaft so it grips the stitches. The points are perfectly smooth though so you can make your stitches quickly and easily. The joins on the circulars are the smoothest I’ve ever encountered and I’ve never had a cable tangle or get my way. They’re just PERFECT!

Staging and lighting: I decided to try the inner bathroom this time. There’s just an overhead light in there, but it’s a tiny room so the light doesn’t have to travel far to hit its mark. I wrapped all of my Signature circulars around the shower rod and stood on the edge of the tub to get the shot.

IMG_5147

Instagram edits: tilt-shift horizontally concentrated along top of image, Amaro filter with border

Computer edits: cropped, enhanced, increased exposure a bit, increased blue

IMG_5141

edited with iPhoto

I like the way the computer edit kept the shiny look of the metal needles, but the softness added to the Instagram with the filter is also a good look. They’re kind of mutually exclusive though…

 

Leave a Reply

