Addiction: A Cautionary Tale

Today’s post is all about addiction. You may remember last month I posted a plea asking for podcast recommendations. Well, you guys really came through! I listened to at least one podcast from every one of your suggestions, and as I searched for those I even added a few more that popped up in the searches and looked interesting. As a result I have added 22 new shows to my podcast lineup! And because I’m an obsessive freak when it comes to these things and seem to really enjoy listening to podcasts from many years ago (it’s like an oral history of geekdom!) I am going to listen to all of these podcasts from the beginning. That means I now have 1,287 individual podcasts to listen to! I will never want for podcasts again! Thank you!

Here comes the cautionary part of this tale: Today when I started to take my daily photos my phone told me I couldn’t take them anymore because of “insufficient space.” That’s never happened to me before, and I’ve gone on some pretty epic photo binges in the past (I also make sure to clear up my camera roll between binges). I checked my usage stats and it turns out my beloved podcasts are now taking up 36 GB of space. So, if you’re going to become a podcast addict like me, you may want to change your podcast settings so it doesn’t auto-download every episode you add to your player. I’m not 100% clear on what all those settings mean, but I’m pretty sure that as long as you’re within wi-fi range you can still listen to all those podcasts without them being downloaded to your player. Now excuse me while I go hit “remove download” on 1,287 podcasts.

Today’s photo also deals with addiction. I drink Coke. I drink A LOT of Coke. It helps keep the migraines away, I swear. I don’t know exactly how or why and I haven’t really bothered to look into it because Coke is delicious and I’m not complaining.

Staging and lighting: I decided to go for the kitchen counter this time. I pulled out all the empty Coke cans from the recycling basket (last emptied on Sunday) and piled them up behind a glass. The light sources are the overhead light in the kitchen (one of which is burnt out) and the under cabinet lights (which apparently need cleaning).

IMG_4585 IMG_4587 IMG_4588

For the Instagram photo I cropped out the outlet, used the little sun button which appears to be some sort of brightness/enhance tool, and used the Sierra filter with a border.

For the computer edit I cropped it, enhanced it, increased the exposure a bit, decreased the yellow a bit, and decreased the contrast until the badger on the glass showed up.

edited with iPhoto

edited with iPhoto

I don’t know what exactly that sun button in Instagram does, but it sure did help the badger show up! I couldn’t really replicate it in iPhoto. I tried every single slider to see if any of them would help and the only one was the contrast. This was as far as I could get without the rest of the photo looking really washed out.

Leave a Reply

