Photocalypse: Something starting with a D

For today’s photo the challenge was to find something starting with a D. I chose darning needles.

Here’s the staging: I went for the back of the futon (I had to de-hair it first) and opened the curtains to let in as much light as possible. Even at about 11 am there isn’t a ton of sunlight to be found around here. Too many trees and bushes.

IMG_4533 IMG_4536

For the Instagram I blurred the top and bottom and chose the Mayfair filter with a border.

For the computer edited photo I just cropped it to look like the Instagram photo (the difference in cropping really bothered me yesterday) and used the “enhance” feature. I didn’t touch the color sliders at all. I don’t mind the yellow cast as much when I’m not photographing yarn.

edited with iPhoto

edited with iPhoto

These two turned out looking very similar! I like the ability to blur areas of the photo with Instagram – it focuses your attention to the middle plane where the subject should be – but it would be nice to have more control over where exactly the blurring will occur.

 

Leave a Reply

