FO Friday: Adventure Knit-a-Long!

Spoilers below for the leethal Adventure Knit-a-Long!

My color pairing was inspired by a botched bleach attempt on my hair. I was trying to bleach more of my hair so it could all be purple instead of just a couple of streaks. We really didn’t know what we were doing and it turned out very uneven and blotchy. The roots of my hair got pretty blonde, but the ends turned out to be neon orangey-pink!

IMG_3171

It looked kind of cool next to the section of purple hair that I hadn’t bleached! Luckily for my hair purple dye will cover a multitude of sins and it all turned out fine. It did give me an idea though.

indigodragonfly Merino Sock in Aww...Someone Left This Little Plastic Skeleton in the Dumpster! (purple) and More Tequila, Less Sunrise (orangey-pink)

indigodragonfly Merino Sock in Aww…Someone Left This Little Plastic Skeleton in the Dumpster! (purple) and More Tequila, Less Sunrise (orangey-pink)

Don’t those two skeins look JUST like my hair?

I decided to embrace the accidental nature of the hair incident and use those skeins together for a mystery KAL. Soon after, the leethal Adventure Knit-a-Long was announced and I thought it would be perfect! It was a choose-your-own-adventure format that I have never seen before!

Every step of the pattern had several different paths to choose from. For the first section I started with a buttonhole tab cast-on and climbed the Basket Tree.

IMG_3801

For the second section I went to play in the river. It was my first time doing stranded colorwork, but it was only for one row of the pattern repeat so it was pretty easy! After looking at some of the spoilers I fell in love with the idea of adding a pop of a third color. I consulted my sister, the color genius, and she told me to use this blue.

blue is Hazel Knits Artisan Sock in Beach Glass

blue is Hazel Knits Artisan Sock in Beach Glass

Have I mentioned she’s a genius? Unfortunately I didn’t see the spoiler until it was too late. I ended up putting the blue in too far up the hat and had to rip back to put it where I really wanted it to go.

For the final section I wanted to showcase the purple a bit more, so I climbed the Stone Hilltop with just the purple yarn. I blocked it, picked out a button (I went with the blue one because it helps tie in the blue stripes), sewed it on, and voila! A finished hat! I’ll be taking some hipster-esque selfies later after I dye my hair again, but for now here it is on one of my head models. It’s a bit looser on the model than it is on my head.

IMG_4073 IMG_4069 IMG_4063 IMG_4076 IMG_4060

2 thoughts on “FO Friday: Adventure Knit-a-Long!

Leave a Reply

