WIP-Cracking Wednesdays: Debunked!

I finally decided on the color order for my Fairy Pools shawl! I ended up going with purple, then blue, then white, like in this swatch:

yarn is indigodragonfly MCN Lace in "Don't You Have an Elsewhere to Be? - Cordelia (purple), Yo, Chillin' (blue), and Ooo...Shiny! (white)

yarn is indigodragonfly MCN Lace in “Don’t You Have an Elsewhere to Be? – Cordelia (purple), Yo, Chillin’ (blue), and Ooo…Shiny! (white)

I cast on and have gotten through the first section and started on the stripes.

IMG_3779

While it is pretty, that’s not a very exciting update is it? Let’s see if I can add some intrigue to this post…

Remember the picture that inspired my yarn color choices? The photograph that I could not, for the life of me, find a source for claiming to be a photograph of the Fairy Pools of Scotland.

I would love to attribute this to a source, but it was posted on a forum in Ravelry without a link and it's all over the internet, so...no idea where this originally came from. Most important to know: NOT MINE.

I would love to attribute this to a source, but it was posted on a forum in Ravelry without a link and it’s all over the internet, so…no idea where this originally came from. Most important to know: NOT MINE.

I had always assumed it was photoshopped or enhanced in some way, because honestly, just LOOK at it. Those purples are way too bright and consistent to be totally natural. I did think that maybe those plants really were purple though, just not quite that bright. I know there are some rather large purple flowering plants around, like Wisteria, and perhaps some of those plants might grow to tree-like proportions. I don’t know, I’m not a botanist. I never really questioned the location though. It certainly looks like a place one would call “Fairy Pools,” so why not?

Apparently everything about this photo is fake, from the colors to the location. Someone on Ravelry (my source for all of my news) pointed out that this photo is actually of the Shotover River in New Zealand and is indeed heavily photoshopped. Out of curiosity I Googled the Shotover River to see what it actually looks like and came across this site which gives a side-by-side comparison of the Shotover River and the photoshopped image. Very interesting.

So, I learned three things from this little investigation:

  1. The actual Shotover River is very pretty and is reason #3,816 why I want to visit New Zealand (or maybe live there). You should Google image search it to see for yourself.
  2. The actual Fairy Pools of Scotland are also very pretty without any photoshopping required. You should also Google image search that and see how awesome they are for yourself.
  3. Photoshop can make very pretty pictures! I mean seriously, LOOK at it! Who cares if it isn’t real, it’s PRETTY and the colors work great together – hence the shawl.

I’m still calling it the Fairy Pools shawl though, just because I can.

Leave a Reply

