FO Friday: Penguin!

I finally found some black seed beads and some beading needles so I could finish the needle felted penguin! Here’s how I made the eyes:

IMG_3179

 

Materials:

  • two black seed beads
  • black thread
  • beading needles

IMG_3181

 

IMG_3182

 

I put the needle through one side of the head where the eye should be and made sure it exited out the other side where the other eye would be. I threaded the bead and then put the needle back through the head trying to follow the same path as closely as possible. I left the ends dangling out of the eyeless side of the head.

IMG_3184

 

I repeated this process for the other side, always trying to keep the threads along the same path through the head.

IMG_3185

 

On each side all of the threads are entering and exiting within a very small area that could be covered by the size of the bead.

IMG_3188

 

Then I tied the ends together in a double knot, making sure to pull the bead in so it indented the head a little.

IMG_3191

 

I cut the loose ends as closely as I could without disturbing the knot.

IMG_3192

 

Then I repeated the process for the other side, tying the knot behind the bead that had already been pulled taut.

IMG_3193

 

I trimmed the loose threads as closely as I could so that the bead would hide the ends.

IMG_3194

 

Any loose threads still visible could be tucked in with the needle.

DONE!

Now for a 360° view of the finished penguin!

IMG_3208 IMG_3201 IMG_3196 IMG_3228 IMG_3223 IMG_3213 IMG_3224 IMG_3230

 

I will packaging up the penguin and shipping it out as soon as I find a proper box for it!

4 thoughts on “FO Friday: Penguin!

  1. Wow, I was feeling kinda bad for giving you a “boring” little white kudama as my felted toy. Now I feel pretty okay about it–you have enough complicated projects! 😉

    • The kudama isn’t boring! I rented Princess Mononoke so I could see them in action and they’re super cute! Basically one color, sure, but they’ve got lots of shapes going on. I’m looking forward to getting started on it!

      • I love Princess Mononoke! And yes, the kudama are supper cute (if you think of a way to get its head to rattle, then so much the better 😉 ).

        Will you put your process pictures up on your blog? Cuz I’d love to see that!

        • Oh yes, there will be process pics! I’m not sure I can get the head to rattle specifically because that could make it too top-heavy, but I think I can get the body to rattle.

Leave a Reply

