WIP-Cracking Wednesday: It’s a Mystery!

For the first time ever, I am joining a Mystery Knit-A-Long. For the uninitiated, a Mystery KAL is when a designer releases a pattern one tiny bit at a time. You start knitting without having the faintest idea what the end product is going to look like. It involves a lot of trust, and frankly, I have trust issues.

I’m usually too scared to commit my precious yarn to a project sight-unseen, but this is a mystery KAL for control freaks! It’s Sunstruck by Laura Aylor and before the KAL begins she provided us with a schematic so we can spend days obsessing over our color choices. Add the fact that I’ve been on a Laura Aylor love-fest lately (I’ve already finished Enamored and I’m nearly finished with All the Shades of Truth), and the pattern is on sale for 50% off until the KAL starts, I was helpless. I HAD to join.

Since Laura was so kind as to provide yardage amounts for each section in the schematic I decided to treat this like a paint-by-numbers kit and use up some of my leftover balls of yarn. I pulled out every single partially used ball of yarn I had and I came to a stunning conclusion: I use A LOT of blues. A fair amount of greens too, and I especially seem fond of blue-greens.

Given the name of the pattern – Sunstruck – A blue-green sky seems like a logical thing to make. I also have leftover skeins of yellow and white to use for a sun ray and a cloud. The border was a bit tricky to figure out. I knew I wanted something contrasting, and preferably darker than the rest of the colors so the middle would pop out more. After stash-diving for the perfect border color I settled on a purple skein. It’s a bit more variegated than I would have liked, but I didn’t have much else to choose from. It appears I use purples up the second I acquire them.

So, here is the full set of yarns I will be using for my Sunstruck. We get the first clue tomorrow and I can’t wait to cast on!

Sunstruck Yarn Combo

2 thoughts on “WIP-Cracking Wednesday: It’s a Mystery!

  1. Pingback: Ravenswing Yarn WIP Update | Whipped-Stitch Witchery

  2. Pingback: WIP-Cracking Wednesday: Roundup | The Secret Life of Yarn

Leave a Reply

