WIP-Cracking Wednesday: Art School

Way back in high school I took a lot of art classes. Like, A LOT of art classes. One of my favorite things to do was to reference other artists (hey, I never said I was creative). I once took a can of Campbell’s soup and re-painted it in strange colors, even re-creating the lettering, as a 3D homage to Warhol. In my sketchbook I made small collages out of magazine clippings to look like paintings by Van Gogh. Once I even tried to re-create Edvard Munch‘s “The Scream” on the side of a stack of plastic drawers in my bedroom. I never quite figured out how to get the paint to stick though, so I never finished it.

Apparently I never got over that impulse. Last June when I first saw All The Shades of Truth by Laura Aylor, I instantly thought of Piet Mondrian‘s work.

Piet Mondrian, Composition II in Red, Blue, and Yellow, 1930image from Wikipedia

Piet Mondrian, Composition II in Red, Blue, and Yellow, 1930
image from Wikipedia

Then I read the description for the pattern and found that I’m not the only one who likes to reference artists. The design was inspired by the architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright, and the name is from a passage in Game of Thrones

I was so inspired by the design, I started a thread in the indigodragonfly group on Ravelry so we could all play color Tetris and try to find some fun 5-color combos in the indigodragonfly color chart. I tried many different combinations, but I kept coming back to Mondrian’s color scheme. I thought the best way to honor the art mash-up that inspired the pattern name and design was to take it one step further.

Here’s the beginning of Frank Lloyd Wright, George R. R. Martin and Mondrian Walk Into a Bar…

Frank Lloyd Wright, Mondrian, and Elmo WIP 1

The yarn is indigodragonfly Merino Sock. The colors are:

  • What the Hay?! (yellow)
  • Self-Elmolation (red)
  • TARDIS (blue)
  • Ooo…Shiny! (white/gray)
  • Did I Listen to Pop Music Because I Was Miserable? Or Was I Miserable Because I Listened to Pop Music? (black)

So far I have finished the first section and am nearly done with the second section. It’s going to be a masterpiece!

 

One thought on “WIP-Cracking Wednesday: Art School

  1. Pingback: WIP-Cracking Wednesday: Roundup | The Secret Life of Yarn

Leave a Reply

