Felt-A-Thon: Day 1

All of my supplies have arrived, the pet-sitting has concluded, and my creative block has been successfully squashed. Let the felting begin! I took hourly photos of my needle felting progress so you can see the creatures taking shape. Fair warning: these are the needle felting orders for my Indiegogo contributors, so if you are one of those lovely people and want to be surprised, DON’T LOOK!

Are you ready?

Ok, here’s the first project – a penguin. I already formed the basic body shape during an evening hanging out with friends (probably took me about 3 hours).

IMG_1161

For the first hour I added some color to neck and chest. I also decided the penguin looked a bit too skinny so I started to bulk him up a bit.

IMG_1163

After fattening him up and making some more color adjustments, I started working on the wings. First I made the white undersides as the base shape.

IMG_1164

Then I added the black on top.

IMG_1169

Finally, I attached the wings and started working on the legs.

IMG_1170

That’s as far as I got yesterday. I’ll be working on it more tonight!

11 thoughts on “Felt-A-Thon: Day 1

    • Well, I used 3 different colors of wool to get that effect – yellow, light orange, and dark orange. I started with the light orange and just pulled off a wisp of the wool, laid it overtop the white patch on the neck and just started felting it in. I tucked in the edges as I went so it maintained the shape of the white patch. Then I took a smaller wisp of the darker orange and started felting it in on the top part of the patch. It just sort of naturally blended in with the lighter orange, I didn’t really have to manipulate it to get it to do that. Then I took the a yellow wisp and felted that over the bottom portion of the neck patch and spilling out onto the chest. I wasn’t super happy with the way that blended in on the chest though, so I took a wisp of the yellow and a wisp of the white wool and blended them together by hand and then applied the blended wool to the chest. After all of that the patch was much thicker than I wanted, so I filled in the area around it with more black, which cleaned up the edges more in the process.

      There may be an easier way to do it, but I have zero experience in needle felting and am just sort of making it up as I go along. I have a book that I refer to on occasion, but I keep forgetting to look at it when I don’t know how to do something…I just sort try stuff and hope it works out. It’s fun!

Leave a Reply

