WIP-Cracking Wednesday: Crochet Appreciation Day

I just finished blocking my crocheted shawl! It’s too dark to take final photos though, so it’s still technically a WIP. I took some pre-blocking photos yesterday that I can share with you though.

IMG_1062

IMG_1067

The pattern is Eye of the Storm by Ryan Hollist. The yarn is indigodragonfly Merino Sock in Ruxpinosferatu (the darker center color) and “Only the Exact Phrase I Used Was ‘Don’t'” – Inara (the outer red color).

I’ve renamed the project Galactic Storm since it looks so celestial. After I finished I went digging for some NASA photos and found one that looks remarkably similar. It’s the center of the Milky Way.

image from NASA/JPL-Caltech

image from NASA/JPL-Caltech

After I unpinned it and brought it inside, I showed it to my mom. She thought it looked lovely, had a wonderful drape to it, and seemed surprised that it was crochet. After a bit of prodding she admitted that she’s never seen a crochet project that wasn’t made with thick yarn (often acrylic) and resulted in a bulky, stiff looking project. I would like to change that perception.

Now, I’m a die-hard knitter, so I don’t exactly go out looking for awesome crochet patterns. Despite that, I have come across some exceptional crochet designs while browsing Ravelry. Here are a few of my favorites:

Bel by Aoibhe Ni

Phoenix by Aoibhe Ni

Lop by Aoibhe Ni

Venus by Aoibhe Ni (in fact, maybe you should just browse all of Aoibhe Ni‘s designs)

Fibonacci’s Biased by Julie Blagojevich

Himbeerwellen by Tanja Osswald

Venetian Carnival by Michelle B.

Vera by Katie Grady

Newland Tank by Beth Nielsen

So, get out your hooks and let’s start showing the world how pretty crochet can be!

Leave a Reply

