WIP-Cracking Wednesday: Puff the Magic Blanket

About a year ago I succumbed to a craze. I joined thousands upon thousands of knitters and started to knit tiny stuffed balls of joy called “hexipuffs.”

Beekeeper's Quilt 1

It’s all due to one very charming and deceptively addictive pattern: the beekeeper’s quilt. I’ve never had an urge to knit a scrap blanket, but THIS is no ordinary scrap blanket. Each hexipuff feels like its own knitting project. Every time I finish a puff I get a rush of satisfaction.

Beekeeper's Quilt - BMFA STR LW Spring Fling 1

I especially like that at the end of all of this there will be no seaming involved. All I have to do is tie each corner together and voila! A big puffy impractical blanket that I will guard jealously from the cats for all time!

Beekeeper's Quilt - LRB 2ply BFL Handspun Raincloud 1

Back when I still had a job (and thus, money) I fed my puff habit by buying miniskeins on the internet. Each 5 gram miniskein would become a lovely little hexipuff to add to my pile.

Beekeeper's Quilt - BMFA STR LW Boobie 2 2

Eventually, I thought it would be nice to use some of the leftover yarn from projects I’ve finished to make puffs with too. That way the blanket could become a record of my past knitting accomplishments. If I used more than one color in a project, I could make a striped hexipuff using all of the colors. Now that I don’t have any spare change I’ll have to settle for project leftovers once my miniskein supply runs out.

Beekeeper's Quilt - Hazel Knits Artisan Sock - Let's Dust Some Vamps

I’m not quite sure where I got this number, but when I first started this project I decided my goal would be approximately 600 puffs. I currently have 56 finished hexipuffs. I’ll round down and say I still have 540 puffs to go.

  • Each puff takes about 45 minutes to knit it should take me 405 more hours to complete.
  • I have 73 miniskeins left.
  • I have 178 full skeins that I need to use in projects before I can make hexipuffs with the leftovers.
  • Subtracting the miniskeins I have left (365 grams) I will need 2,335 grams of yarn to complete the blanket. Most fingering weight skeins are about 100 grams so that would be 23.4 skeins of yarn.
  • If I knit one hexipuff a day I would complete the blanket by July 31, 2014.

Even though those statistics are pretty discouraging, I kinda don’t care. A finished quilt will not be materializing any time soon, but those hexipuffs are WAY too much fun to worry about minor details like that.

Beekeeper's Quilt 3

 

I’ll just keep on puffing.

 

10 thoughts on “WIP-Cracking Wednesday: Puff the Magic Blanket

  1. I love my hexipuffs – most of mine are knitted from leftover sock yarn, but I have just been given a load of small balls by a friend. She got a big bag of yarn from Freecycle and didn’t want the the fine gauge stuff, so I snapped it up! My plan is not to buy any wool for my beekeeper’s quilt, but we’ll see!

  2. I’ve seen hexipuffs everywhere but I totally didn’t understand why people were knitting them until this post. I missed the beekeeper’s boat! That blanket is awesome! šŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: WIP-Cracking Wednesday: Puffin’ | The Secret Life of Yarn

  4. Pingback: A Study in Scraps | The Secret Life of Yarn

Leave a Reply

