The Mayans Lied, So I Guess I’ve Got to Do Stuff

Happy New Year’s Eve!

I am going to be spending my day clearing the decks to prepare for 2013, because nothing motivates me to clean more than a looming arbitrary deadline.

Hilarity brought to you by Hyperbole and a Half.

Hilarity brought to you by Hyperbole and a Half.

I’m still not quite clear why I do this. I never seem to get everything done that I want to. I don’t think of it until there are only a few days left in the year and then I procrastinate for most of those days thinking somehow I have developed the ability to bend the time-space continuum to my will and compress a week’s worth of work into a few hours.

Today though, I’m gonna try to go easy on myself and acknowledge that it REALLY is an arbitrary date and my success or failure at finishing ALL THE THINGS before midnight has no bearing on how the rest of the year is going to play out. Here are the things I plan to accomplish today in order to wake up tomorrow without shame:

  1. Blog post (hey look at that, I already finished something!)
  2. Send out thank you emails to my Indiegogo contributors. Bonus points if I manage to do it without sounding too socially awkward.
  3. Clean my room. Vacuum it too.
  4. Laundry (why is there always more laundry?)
  5. Go through my WIPs bin and rescue all of the notions and needles that are no longer in use.
  6. Spend the rest of 2012 photographing yarn and projects!

That’s not too bad, right? I think I can handle this…maybe I’ll even take some pictures with Sven for once so I can justify having a mannequin in my bedroom watching me sleep.

Also, I don’t usually make resolutions per se, but I do make some fuzzy goals based on the fact that a new calendar has been hung up and somehow that means I have a “blank slate” or whatever. Not that I ever look at the calendars I hang up, I have a smart phone, a computer, and a TV telling me what day it is. The calendars really don’t give me any new information…

Looking forward a few more hours to 2013 here are my fuzzy goals:

  1. Earn money. I’m not even going to specify “turning a profit” because for the first year of business that may be aiming too high, but I would at least like to be able to convince people to give me money for my skills.
  2. Bend technology to my will. I know, I know, that’s never going to happen, but I would really like to have it stop failing so spectacularly on me like it did all throughout 2012. I still haven’t found any of my documents in my back up files from the old computer – meaning I have NO knitting patterns and any ebooks I may or may not have had are currently missing. I’m trying not to panic, it’s possible they’re still in there somewhere. Also, my BlackBerry has decided that having a battery life longer than 4 hours is no longer its responsibility. I suspect it’s been conspiring with my camera, which seems to think AA batteries grow on trees. In other news, I’m starting to get really twitchy without easy access to any of my music thanks to the fact that my iPod is still probably under a couch in some crack-den in Vancouver. An iPhone 5 has been ordered in hopes that it could remedy all of these problems. If something happens to that iPhone and somehow it doesn’t work or gets lost or broken or I can’t figure out how to use it or ANYTHING…I give up. I’ll just go live under a bridge or something.
  3. See daylight at least 4 days a week. My sleep schedule is completely upside-down right now and the days are so short anyway due to the whole axial tilt thing that I can’t quite remember what daylight looks like. I really need to work on my outdoor photography skills anyway, so I should go outside sometime and take some photos. Though I recently got some REALLY cool night shots…I’ll show you later.
  4. Knit a sweater. I still can’t believe I haven’t done this yet. Put down the shiny shawls and cast on a freaking sweater.
  5. Try to spend at least one continuous hour a day NOT sitting down. Exercise can happen too, but there are plenty of days when I am simply not up for it. Regardless of whether I am mentally or physically prepared to actually exercise, spending some time NOT sitting should be on the agenda. My spine will thank me for it.

I could add more, but that sounds like more than enough ambition for one year. What insanity has New Year’s Eve inspired for you?

One thought on “The Mayans Lied, So I Guess I’ve Got to Do Stuff

  1. Ooh, you’re a better person than I am! This place needs some cleaning, but I’ve decided to just enjoy the rest of my time off and save it for the weekend. (And if the next-door neighbors judge us for still having our Christmas tree up in the window that faces their house, that’s fine, because we judge them for plenty of other things.)

    I should steal your #5 goal, but instead, I’ll cheer you on for knitting a sweater. You can do it! They’re not hard! And if you do, say, a top-down raglan, you’ll have minimal finishing work!

Leave a Reply

