Urban Craft Uprising! (Part 2)

And the Urban Craft Uprising vendor love-fest continues…

IMG_9443

More narwhals were sighted at the Bread and Badger booth! I have bought several of their etched pint glasses as presents in the past – including one with a honey badger for my mom – and every time I see them again they’ve come up with something even more awesome!

IMG_9445

IMG_9453

Fable and Fury is another UCU regular that I was thrilled to see again. I’m always fascinated to see what gothy-geek silhouettes they’ve come up with.

IMG_9446

IMG_9452

The biohazard symbol necklace is one that I don’t remember seeing before, otherwise I’m sure I would own one already!IMG_9447

I bought the red thistle necklace one year as a birthday present for my mom, and it’s still one of her go-to pieces!

IMG_9449

The highlight of Fable and Fury for me though is always their portrait necklaces. They have so many icons – David Bowie, Nick Cave, Tom Waits, Jimi Hendrix, Frankenstein’s Monster…

IMG_9450

But my absolute favorite, and the very first thing I ever bought from them, is the H.P. Lovecraft silhouette – complete with tentacles. It’s my stealth-geek necklace! So few people I run into know who Lovecraft is, let alone what he looks like, so if I’m wearing this necklace and someone squees in delight I KNOW I’m about to meet someone cool!

IMG_9455

Okay, I have a confession to make. I have a bit of a fetus phobia. Even babies who have escaped the womb tend to creep me out. I’m a monster, I know. I tried to pass by Kniffin Pottery with my eyes closed, but I just couldn’t look away. The pottery is disturbing, yet fascinating. Maybe having my fruit hanging out in a bowl propped up by baby arms could be some sort of exposure therapy for me…

IMG_9456

IMG_9460

After the shock of the fetus pottery, the Bella Sisters were a comforting retreat into loveliness. They are also UCU regulars, and every time I see them there’s another gorgeous coat (or two, or five) that makes me cry on the inside because I know I can’t afford to take it home with me. Except that one time I DID take a coat home with me! And I loved it and squeezed it and called it George.

IMG_9458

IMG_9459

IMG_9464

More yarn was to be had at Yarnarchy! There were a variety of beautiful skeins on the walls, some hand-spun, some hand-dyed, and the owner was there busily spinning more! She also had some hats and fingerless mitts for sale made from her wonderful yarns!

IMG_9466

I was weirdly drawn to the light lavender pair of mitts…it’s not usually my color, but the yarn just called to me.

IMG_9468

Ugly Baby is the best booth to hang out in for a laugh. Their shower art is just the right mix of weird, absurd, and sometimes vulgar to keep me entertained for quite a while! Even the concept is a bit absurd…art for your shower? But why? BECAUSE IT’S AWESOME, THAT’S WHY.

IMG_9472

What better way to start your day than staring at brightly colored toys embedded in glittery rubber? Look, there’s even a unicorn!

IMG_9471

The toys are great, but the messages spelled out in letter beads are what makes these genius.

IMG_9469

Every time I see this booth I have a new favorite piece – this time it’s Hell Bunny.

IMG_9473

I was thrilled to run into Heidi Kunkel, one of the authors of Needles and Artifice! That’s another book on my wish list from Cooperative Press. It’s a collection of steam-punk inspired patterns from The Ladies of Mischief.

IMG_9474

Heidi designed the Incandescent Cowl, Mountain Lily Scarf, and Warm & Tingley Headscarf and Mitts, and had a wall full of them for sale!

IMG_9478

She’s multi-talented too – aside from being a knitwear designer she’s also an accomplished potter.

IMG_9477

She had all kinds of beautiful pieces for sale – from yarn bowls to mugs, and everything in between!

IMG_9476

This is another great gift idea for the knitters in your life: go to Heidi’s Pottery and order a yarn bowl!

IMG_9479

IMG_9490

There were also bowls made from wood at Salad Days. At first I was drawn in by the beautiful maple grains…

IMG_9484

but as I got closer, there was a surprise element that made these bowls even more special.

IMG_9481

Some of them have designs carved into them and then inlayed with crushed turquoise!

IMG_9486

The turquoise even fills in any knot-holes in the wood, making those potential imperfections into a wonderful design element.

IMG_9482

I ran my hand over the inlays and they are completely flush with the carvings and holes, so the bowls are totally smooth inside and out.

IMG_9487

This bowl was my favorite with its dramatic slashes of turquoise traveling up the sides and over the lip.

IMG_9489

To order, email them at oregonwoodenbowls@aol.com or call (503)359-1000.

IMG_9491

Moulton Garden Bon Bons are seeds disguised as delicious truffles! It reawakened my intermittent desire to grow an herb garden and always have fresh herbs and vegetables at my disposal. Then I remembered that I have killed not one, not two, but three air plants – quite possibly the most idiot-proof greenery on the planet – and perhaps I should leave those poor unsuspecting seeds to someone who isn’t wanted for first-degree plant murder in two states.

IMG_9504

Sage and Sea Farms was back for a second round at UCU offering delicious sipping vinegars. I had never heard of sipping vinegars before seeing this booth at the summer show. It’s a delicious concoction of fruit, a bit of cane sugar, and vinegar that you mix with water (or sparkling water if you like it bubbly). It sounds weird to drink something vinegar-based, and it sort of is, but it’s really tasty! It’s got just enough sugar in it to bring out the fruit flavors, but it’s nowhere near as sweet as the usual sparkling drinks you can get at the store. I can see this as a fabulous alternative for those times when you’re craving something flavorful to drink but don’t want to reach for something packed full of sugar.

IMG_9503

I especially enjoyed the Apple Pear Ginger flavor, which had just enough ginger to give it a bite, but not so much that it overwhelmed the other fruit flavors.

IMG_9500

Last but not least was Smitten Artisan Truffles. This booth was really hard to photograph because the whole time it was PACKED. These are hands-down the sexiest truffles I’ve ever had! The Vanilla Carmel + Tahitian Vanilla Bean Sea Salt are my favorite with the gooey caramel, the vanilla bean-infused chocolate center, and the perfectly layered grains of salt encased in a milk chocolate shell (there I go with the salted caramel obsession again). They have other great flavors as well, like a bourbon caramel which tasted a lot like the vanilla caramels had a run-in with a pirate and had beautiful truffle babies. There was also a Passion Fruit Habanero flavor which was the most intriguing taste profile I have ever encountered! As if the truffles weren’t perfect enough, the samples were even served by handsome young men.

IMG_9499

I straight up ordered my boyfriend to buy me a box for my birthday and he complied. They were gone by the end of the night – my birthday isn’t until next Sunday…oops. I could say so much more about these truffles, but it’s starting to get a little upsetting to describe them when I’m all out. I really hope they’re back for the next show, and I hope I have some cash then, because I will be buying ALL THE TRUFFLES.

4 thoughts on “Urban Craft Uprising! (Part 2)

  1. Well, now I super miss craft shows! Do you know how long it is from now until craft shows happen in Minnesota (and, presumably, Ohio)?! I’m going to have to go browse Etsy for an hour just to get my craft fix–and online is just not as good as real-life.

    Anyway, I’m glad you had fun, even if you couldn’t buy anything this year. I’m going to have to be careful which craft fairs I spend money at this summer, as well. Even more so than usual. Curse you, money!

    • LOL, I keep describing Urban Craft Uprising as “Etsy LIVE,” so browse away!

      This is usually a pretty popular time for craft fairs with the holidays and all, maybe there is something going on nearby that you don’t know about yet? Ask around, do a Google search, look for fliers around campus maybe?

Leave a Reply

