Urban Craft Uprising!

Yesterday I made my bi-annual trip to Urban Craft Uprising! Usually I end up coming home with bags full of goodies, but since I’m dead-broke this year I was content to just marvel at all of the glorious hand-made things. This time I came armed with my camera, and I have LOTS to show you. So much that I can’t possibly fit it all in one post. Let me introduce you to some of my favorite vendors from the Winter show.

Craftwich Creations 1

Our first stop was Craftwich Creations with beautiful hand-carved crochet hooks making me wonder if those pointy sticks are all they’re cracked up to be.

Craftwich Creations 2

I bought a gorgeous shawl pin here at the last show, and it’s now my favorite! (Some people may call them hair sticks, but those people clearly don’t have enough shawls).

KuKuRuZa Gourmet Popcorn

KuKuRuZa Gourmet Popcorn simultaneously exploited my addiction to popcorn AND salted caramel by offering tastings of their Hawaiian Salted Caramel Popcorn. Holy crap, it was delicious! The popcorn was thoroughly coated with the caramel so it had a satisfying crunch, and the balance between sweet and salty was absolutely perfect! They also had a Tuxedo flavor – caramel corn covered in white and dark chocolate – which in this household is known as “crack.” I avoided tasting that one out of consideration for the vendor. I’m really not kidding about being dead-broke and I cannot guarantee the safety of anyone standing between me and a bag of crack.

Polymath 5

The first geekery of the day was provided by Polymath Design Lab and their wonderful collection of scientific adornments. What self-respecting lab rat wouldn’t want a test tube necklace?

Polymath 3

There were cufflinks for the male geeks.

Polymath 1

There was even a Cthulhu.

Polymath 4

A variety of geeky Christmas ornaments were available as well. My favorite was the chromosome.

Polymath 2

Circle Couture 2

UCU always has at least one booth featuring breath-taking fashions, and this time Circle Couture was the one.

Circle Couture 1

LOOK AT THE PRETTY.

Circle Couture 3

Afternoon to Remember 1

Back in tasty-land, I came across Afternoon to Remember Fine Teas and Gifts. You know it’s a good sign when the tasting tray is nearly empty. The Creme Brule Tea Cookies (middle tray) were so heavenly! The cookies themselves weren’t for sale, they were there to entice people to buy their cookbooks. The Creme Brule cookie recipe is in Drop by for Tea, by Amy Lawrence.

Afternoon to Remember 2

For the French enthusiasts among us, I apologize for the appearance of the words “creme brule” in the blog. I can’t for the life of me figure out how to add the appropriate accent marks in WordPress, and without those the extra “e” looks really weird. It’s not just you, it’s bothering me too.

Cellar Door 2

My first narwhal sighting of the day was at Cellar Door Mercantile, where they had shirts and cards featuring my favorite animal!

Cellar Door 1

Cellar Door 4

They had really cool non-narwhal illustrations too!

Cellar Door 3

Almeda Pottery 4

Almeda Pottery was absolutely mind-blowing.

Almeda Pottery 1

These are the teeniest tiniest vases I have ever seen!

Almeda Pottery 2

I mean seriously, look at how small and skinny those are! And the glazing jobs on them are gorgeous!

Almeda Pottery 5

HOW DOES THIS HAPPEN?! (Pro tip: there are process videos in the link provided above…I still don’t believe it though).

Almeda Pottery 3

In case your brain still can’t process the scale of these things, here’s an adult human hand for reference. Rumor has it you can buy some of this miniature pottery at the Seattle Art Museum gift shop.

Careful It Bites 2

This was one of my favorite booths from the last show and I’m so glad Careful It Bites was back for another round.

Careful It Bites 4

I would have killed for one of these as a kid. Hell, I’d STILL kill for one. Who wouldn’t want a severed Sasquatch head?

Careful It Bites 3

This booth is all about the details…bloody fur still sticking to the shears, fresh from the Sasquatch beheading.

Careful It Bites 1

Other monster parts can be found poking out from under the tables. Best. Booth. Ever.

IMG_9423

For your cooking pleasure, Beautiful Briny Sea was back again with more delicious salts! I LOVE these salts and have been spreading them throughout as many kitchens as possible. At home we have three flavors so far: Chorizo, Truffle, and Magic Unicorn.

IMG_9424

While all are delicious, Magic Unicorn is probably my favorite. It seriously goes with EVERYTHING.

IMG_9433

Yarny contact was finally made with Victory Garden Yarn! I had a fabulous time talking with Anna about her crocheted creations. Here she is modeling her super-cozy Wisteria Wrap, which she had available in a variety of bold colors.

IMG_9435

Her booth was piled high with giant color-blocked and striped cowls.

IMG_9432

This sky-blue and orange one really caught my eye, and it was SO SOFT. I was shocked to find out it was an acrylic/wool blend! I know intellectually that there are good acrylics out there that don’t feel like plastic, but it’s rare for me to actually find one! This whole booth made me want to find some super-bulky yarn to cast-on with…

IMG_9430

IMG_9440

For more yarny goodness I went to the UCU regulars, Spincycle Yarns.

IMG_9437

I’ve had my eye on their Natural Novelty Yarn for a while now because I am just itching to knit Purlieu. I was waiting for the right color to come along though, and of course the second my wallet is empty, there it is. They came out with a new color called “Fever Dreams” that is the most beautiful purple with tufts of blue and cloud gray in it. Someday, Fever Dreams…someday.

IMG_9438

IMG_9428

Finally, I ran into Moxie/Hi-Fiber Needle Felting Kits, which is where I got my needle felting kit that I used to make my test pony in The Art of Stabbing Oneself.

IMG_9429

As usual, there were lots of super cute needle-felted things on display.

IMG_9427

There were even some with lights!

IMG_9426

I spent some time watching Moxie work (without stabbing herself at all, I noticed). She gave me some tips on how to build up a design – in this case a simple ball. She didn’t poke the ball nearly as vigorously as I did, which probably added to the lack of blood-letting. I will try to be less violent next time and see how that goes.

I’ll have many more vendors to show you tomorrow! There are just too many craft artists I’m excited about to fit into this one post!

If you want to help support a developing craft artist, there are still 5 days left to contribute to my Knotty Narwhal Indiegogo campaign! There are many cool perks you can claim in exchange for your donation, including my own needle-felted art! (I promise not to bleed on them).

4 thoughts on “Urban Craft Uprising!

  1. Pingback: Youngs Crochet & Fashion Boutique! Using a Needle and Yarn, a Mother Daughter Team Up to Create Quality Fashion « GaptoothDiva

Leave a Reply

