Victory Lap

Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve posted, but I’ve been very busy knitting. A lot. And then once the knitting was over I had a mountain of chores and other errands to catch up on since I really didn’t do anything else but knit for 17 days straight. In my last post I outlined my completely insane goals for the Ravellenic Games and I am happy to report that I finished ALL of them! Completely finished too, as in blocked, sewn up, photographed and everything. After the dust settled I ended up with 10 medals and pile of beautiful handknits to enjoy! Meet the Highly Improbable Ravellenic Projects of DOOM:

Curse the Bunnies

Pattern: Whippoorwill (size small), by Carina Spencer

Yarn: indigodragonfly Merino Sock in Bunnies, Bunnies, It Must Be Bunnies! (purple) and Curse Your Sudden But Inevitable Betrayal! (green)

Toorie

Pattern: Toorie (small gauge), by Carina Spencer

Yarn: indigodragonfly Merino Silk DK in Edward Discovers That Woodchippers Make Excellent Juicers

Bored Now.

Pattern: Zuzu’s Petals (small gauge), by Carina Spencer

Yarn: indigodragonfly MCN Sport in Bored Now. (Evil Willow)

Elsewhere, As in Far Far Away

Pattern: Faraway, So Close (small size), by Carina Spencer

Yarn: indigodragonfly MCS Worsted in Don’t You Have An Elsewhere To Be? (Cordelia)

Hello Sweetie

Pattern: Dovetail Cowl (size small), by Carina Spencer

Yarn: indigodragonfly MCS Worsted in River Song

Damsels With Batteries

Pattern: Regina, by Carina Spencer

Yarn: indigodragonfly DK Polwarth Silk in A Thin Line Between Love and Batteries (purple) and Young Helpless Damsels in Damp Climates (green)

Barmaids Are Tasty

Pattern: Corseted Mitts (small/medium gauge), by Carina Spencer

Yarn: indigodragonfly MCN Worsted in Who’s a Guy Gotta Kill to Get a Drink Around Here? (Angelus)

So, you can see now why I was too busy to write. I still can’t believe I got them all done on time. I was only planning on getting them knitted by the deadline, I never dreamed I would have the time to block them and all that jazz. What I didn’t count on was that my knitting speed would more than double within the first 6 days, so by day 13 I found myself with nothing on the needles! I learned some interesting things during the process of cranking out these projects:

  • Carina Spencer designs are relatively quick! The longest (Whippoorwill) took 20 hours to knit and the quickest (Corseted Mitts) took a mere 8 hours.
  • I really can’t burn out on knitting. I figured if anything would get me to want a break from knitting, this would do it, but once I bound off the last project I got a little panicked and had to find another project to work on while these were blocking.
  • The playhouse is not a suitable long-term blocking space solution. I live in a small cat-filled house and fur/claw free floor space is hard to come by, so I cleared out the old playhouse in the backyard to do the blocking in. Apparently it’s humid in there even with the windows open because when I went to check on the projects after a full day in there they were still as wet as when I left them. With the help of my mother and sister I had to carefully transfer them to my bedroom and put them on my bed in front of the fan to finish blocking. Then I had nowhere to sleep….
  • As long as I take lots of stretch breaks I can knit for a very long time without breaking myself.  I spent a total of 92 hours knitting in 17 days. I had some trouble with my thumbs getting tired, but that didn’t start up until I started slacking on stretching, and I recovered fairly quickly. I don’t anticipate having to knit like that ALL the time, but it’s good to know how far I can push myself if I’m up against a tight deadline.

Now that I’ve seen how quickly these projects knit up (and how much fun they are!), the idea of knitting more of these to sell sounds much more appealing. The next step in the licensing process is to set up a business. I could apply for a license to knit Carina’s designs now, but I don’t want to pay for months when I have no way of selling things if it takes a while to get a shop set up. That makes sense right? Before I get too ahead of myself I need to learn the basics of running a business, so I’ve started reading Small Time Operator and making a to-do list.

Now we’re getting somewhere…

2 thoughts on “Victory Lap

  1. These are all beautiful! I’m an awe that you finished them in only 17 days, and that your hands and wrists didn’t cramp up. I know that when I work for extended periods of time, my hands definitely do, especially the next day.

    Definitely understand the feeling of panic when projects get finished. Even if I have two or three works in progress, whenever I finish something, I still feel like I’m not working on enough and need to find something new to do.

  2. Lordy, Nikki! (That’s right, Lordy! Lordy, Lordy!) I am filled with impressedness! And I’m glad to hear that you’ve pretty much discovered that you can’t get sick of knitting. That’s always a worry. Like people who love to cook and then become chefs and realize that while they enjoyed cooking one lavish meal each day, they do not enjoy cooking one hundred lavish meals every day. I hope I’m the same with with writing, now that I’m in grad school and will be doing a great deal of it again. Enjoy the business-beginning process!

Leave a Reply

